Technology with attitude

Harlan Ellison, Gardner Dozois, Moebius and Vincent Di Fate join Science Fiction Hall of Fame

Sci-Fi icon Harlan Ellison is among the inductees into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame this June.

Any hardened sci-fi fan will tell you that June is the month that the new inductees are entered into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame, and 2011 will see some familiar names from the genre joining the likes of Asimov and Arthur C. Clarke on the Hall of Fame wall. As always, the official event will take place in Seattle at the EMP|SFM (Experience Music Project/Science Fiction Museum) as part of their annual Science Fiction Weekend, June 24-26.

The 2011 inductees into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame are as follows:

Harlan Ellison, a giant in the field, and the winner of more speculative fiction awards than any other living writer. If the eight Hugo Awards, four Nebulas, five Bram Stoker Awards and two Edgar Awards don’t impress you, then check out his many collections of short fiction – with over 1,000 published short stories, novellas, screenplays, teleplays and essays, he’s one of the most prolific and consistent writers we have.

Gardner Dozois, another multiple Hugo and Nebula winner, and another writer who’s best known for his short fiction. Dozoi also made his name as an editor, presiding over Asimov’s Science Fiction magazine for an amazing twenty years, from 1984-2004. It’s little wonder that he’s won the Hugo Award for Best Professional Editor an incredible fifteen times – and now he can add the Hall of Fame to the list.

Jean ‘Moebius’ Giraud, the French comic book artist whose visual style has influenced everything from Tron to The Fifth Element. Also known for his Western comic strip character Lieutenant Blueberry, Giraud uses the ‘Moebius’ pen name for his science fiction work.

Vincent Di Fate, the American science fiction and fantasy artist who has been nominated for the Hugo Awards ten times, and whose visionary work has graced the covers of sci-fi novels and magazines for over thirty years.

The Science Fiction Hall of Fame was founded in 1996, and relocated from the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas to its permanent home at EMP in 2004. Hall of Fame nominations are submitted by EMP members, and the final inductees are chosen by a panel of award-winning science fiction authors, artists, editors, publishers and film professionals. For more information on the Hall of Fame, and previous inductees, check out our article on the 2010 Science Fiction Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

Tickets to the Science Fiction Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on June 25, 2011, are free, and can be reserved by calling the EMP box office at 206-770-2702.