Dum Spiro Spero

Dum Spiro Spero
The new album from Japanese metal band Dir En Grey — Dum Spiro Spero — will be in stores August 2 through The End Records.

I know a lot of regular readers don’t get why I write about Dir En Grey. I happen to have a soft spot for the band, because they flew me out to Japan last year to cover their sold-out shows at the Budokan. I probably never would’ve seen Japan without that trip. Do I like their music? Sure. Do I like the vocals? Not at all, actually. They’d be so much better if they were an instrumental band.

That there is the cover art for the new disc, which admittedly is kind of awesome.

When asked how the new album compares to past work, guitarist Kaoru said it is “something more savage from a deeper world which is completely different from any of our past works.”

There are 14 tracks on the disc, including “Hageshisa To, Kono Mune No Naka De Karamitsuita Shakunetsu No Yami” (featured on the ‘Saw 3D’ soundtrack) and the singles, “Lotus” and “Different Sense.”

“These songs are definitely some of the highlights of the album,” says Kaoru, “but they are actually the most catchy and easy-listening songs on this album. Can you even imagine what our other songs are like?”

Entertainment Dir En Grey Reveal All About New Disc