Technology with attitude

Ihsahn To Release Eremita In June


That’s right, my male prostitute friends.

Candlelight Records has set June 19 as the release date for Eremita, the fourth album from former Emperor frontman Ihsahn.

Recorded and produced at Telemark’s Ivory Shoulder Studios, with additional tracking completed at Notodden’s Juke Joint Studio and Seattle’s Envisage Audio, Eremita was mixed by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios in Örebro, Sweden.

Alongside Ihsahn, the album features performances from Leprous drummer Tobias Ornes Andersen, Shining saxophonist Jørgen Munkeby, guitarist Jeff Loomis, and vocalists Devin Townsend (which makes sense, and fucking rules), Leprous’ Einar Solberg, and Starofash’s Heidi S. Tveitan.

“This is right where I want to be musically, with lots of room for dynamics and expressive variety,” says Ihsahn.

“Tobias and Jørgen have really added to the organic vibe I was going for and have contributed to the overall feel with their fantastic musicianship. And to have Devin, Jeff, Einar and Heidi adding their special moments, I am very privileged to be able to work with such a talented group of people. I really feel this is some of my most inspired work yet.”

Here’s a trailer for the disc.