Technology with attitude

Darkthrone’s Nocturno Culto Launches Gift Of Gods


Nocturno Culto
That’s right.

I’m excited to learn that Nocturno Culto of Darkthrone’s got a new project going.

It’s called Gift of Gods, and in it, Nocturno turns his hand to creating pure unbridled heavy metal excellence, taking in a vast array of influences from decades past to concoct a special whirlwind of melodic riffing and headbanging anthems on this 30-minute heavy metal pilgrimage.

Gift of Gods’ debut is due out on October 28 on vinyl and CD through Peaceville Records.

The album is called Receive and also features a rendition of “Looking For An Answer,” originally written and recorded by the obscure Swedish ’80s band Universe.

Says Nocturno: “Finally the mini album is done. Gift of Gods has been a great ride for me. I don’t want this to end now, so I will most likely work on new material. Thanks to my partner in crime, K.A. Hubred, we got to rehearse during the last two years.

“What to expect? I have no idea how to describe this, but it’s metal, for sure,” he concludes.

Well I’d certainly hope so.

Here is the album’s track listing:

1. Intro
2. Enlightning Strikes
3. Receive
4. Looking For An Answer
5. Last Solstice
6. Outro