Technology with attitude

Candy Crush Saga Free Download and Turn Into a Zombie


Look around you and there’s a good chance that you’ll find a lot of people hunched over their mobile phone.

You can see them with a serious look on their face with the occasional squinting.

A Guide to Playing Candy Crush Saga

No, they’re not reading an important work email or working on a document. What they’re doing is what countless of other people are doing – playing Candy Crush Saga.

This game is taking the world by storm. You’ve seen your Facebook friends expressing their satisfaction or frustration on their timeline about an easy or hard level. You’ve encountered a lot of friends asking you if you can give them lives. Now, you want to know what the fuss is all about.

A Guide to the Game

Before turning into a Candy Crush Saga zombie, check out this guide so that you’ll know what to expect and learn how to truly enjoy this game:

  • Gameplay

It’s sort of like playing Bejeweled because it’s one of those games wherein you need to match three things. You’ll be presented with a game board filled with candies of different types and colors. In most cases, there will also be obstacles. The objective of the game is to match three or more candies by swapping two adjacent candies. You can swap their positions by swiping vertically or horizontally.

Here are the different candies that you’ll encounter in Candy Crush Saga:

  • Jelly bean (red)
  • Lozenge (orange)
  • Lemon drop (yellow)
  • Square (green)
  • Lollipop head (blue)
  • Purple cluster

There are also special candies that have special powers. For example, you can clear out a whole row or column with a special candy. You can get a special candy if you match more than 3 candies of the same color.

The game also operates on a life system. You’re given a maximum of 5 lives and you need to have at least 1 life in order to play the level. Every time you fail to meet the set requirement of the level, you lose 1 life. If you used all your lives, you need to wait 30 minutes for a life to be replenished. You can also ask for a life from your Facebook friends. Alternatively, you can pay for additional lives.

  • Levels

The objective of the game is to finish all levels. Each level has its own requirement and you need to meet the requirement in order to move on to the next level. Each level also has a specific type of game. Here are the different types of games presented in different levels:

  • Target score
  • Ingredient drop
  • Candy order
  • Timed
  • Jelly

These levels are grouped into several episodes. As of January 2014, there are more than 500 levels for the Facebook version and close to 500 levels for the mobile version.

Play it Now

Most people will tell you that Candy Crush Saga is better played than read. Just go ahead and download the game and experience it for yourself especially now that you know the most important things about it.