Previously, the Galaxy S3 was running on the Android 4.3 (Jelly Bean), while the Galaxy E7 came loaded with Android v4.4.4 (KitKat). The E7 just received the Android 5.1.1 Lollipop in India, after the SM-E700F model from Sri Lanka received it at the beginning of November. You’ll find the OTA update (E700HXXU1BOJ7) for the Galaxy E7 (SM-E700H) in the Settings menu, while the rest of the E7 models, likewise the Galaxy S3, can get this update Dirty Unicorn. We advise the users to backup their data using a TWRP tool.
In order to install the custom ROM based on Android 5.1.1 Lollipop on your Galaxy S3 device, you can use the Dirty Unicorn firmware, but for to make sure that the installation will be successful, you must follow some important steps.
The Galaxy S3 flagships with the model number GT-I9300, or the 3G variant are compatible with the Dirty Unicorns custom firmware, and the devices must be rooted. Also, the battery must be charged to up to 80 percent, at least, so it won’t die during the installation process, and the users must create a backup of their data and settings, using a TWRP tool or the Team Win Recovery Project. In addition, the users must download the GApps from the Google Play store, on their computers, then save them to the root folder of the storage card after connecting their phone to their PC.
The users will turn off their devices and boot them using the Recovery Mode, by holding down the Home, Volume Up and Power buttons, simultaneously. While in recovery Mode, the users will back up all the data, then wipe the phone using the wipe data or factory reset option and the wipe cache partition option. Next step is to start the installation of the Dirty Unicorn custom ROM by selecting the choosing zip from sdcard.
The Android 5.1.1 Lollipop is a major improvement over Kitkat and it comes with lots of new features, such as the ability to sync with smartwatches, tablets, TVs and cars; the Security-Enhanced Linux Software will protect the device against malware; Multi User Guest Mode will allow the users to create a guest account for their friends and they won’t have access to their private data; the priority Mode will allow the users to decide which notifications, messages or calls are more important etc.