Technology with attitude

Gmail Experience Improved With These Tips and Tricks

0

Gmail is used by over 900 million people from all over the word, being an advertising-supported email service provided by Google and launched 11 years ago. Gmail is a powerful service and it has a lot to offer, but not all users know all its secrets and hidden features, which allow them to manage their accounts better.

How To Unsubscribe To Bulk Emails

Gmail has a good spam filter, but it’s not efficient enough, because it allows bulk email messages to reach your inbox. Luckily, there’s a way to get rid of these annoying messages and to never receive them again. By typing Unsubscribe into the search box, you will get a list of emails you’ve forgotten about such as newsletters or daily deals, so if you want to stop receiving other messages in the future, open these emails and click the unsubscribe button which is placed next to the sender’s address or at the bottom of the text.

See Who Logged Into Your Account

Hackers get their hands on your email address and password and read all your mails, hopping that they’ll find something to steal from you. Maybe someone from your circle of friends has allowed you to check your messages on his/her computer/smartphone/tablet, but you forgot to logout, and he/she has your authentication information saved on that device and can check your email account from time to time. In order to find out who accessed your account, Gmail will give you a log containing the access type: browser, mobile, POP3, also, the location and IP address for the last 10 logins. If someone is currently logged into your account, you have the option to “Sign out all other web sessions”.

Bookmark Or Prioritize Messages

The yellow star will allow you to bookmark or prioritize messages, but we don’t recommend you to star too many emails because you’ll create chaos in your inbox. However, there are many other colored stars to choose from, and use them for different priority levels. Or, for messages that need urgent reply, you can use the red exclamation point. These symbols or colored stars can be chosen from Settings > General, where you’ll drag them from the “Not in use” category to the “In use” category”.

Managing An Inactive Account

Google’s Inactive Account Manager is the solution when you’ll decide to no longer want to keep your account active. Using this tool, you’ll decide what will happen to your data in case you will not access your account for a while. We don’t want to want to think of the worst case scenarios, but if something happens to you, then Google will know what to do, if your account will be considered inactive and if it’s the time to notify someone.