Browsing Tag

book review

Review: 'Habibi' by Craig Thompson

When most people think of graphic novels they picture heroes in spandex, and supervillains with dastardly plans for world domination - but the medium sometimes offers so much more. Anyone who's read the likes of Maus or Persepolis will tell…

Review: 'Zone One' by Colson Whitehead

Much has already been made of Colson Whitehead's decision to dip his literary toe into the zombie-infested waters of popular fiction. Zone One has been hailed as the pinnacle of zombie literature to date, a smart and savvy combination of…

Review: 'When She Woke' by Hillary Jordan

The literary comparisons are clear almost as soon as you open Hillary Jordan's When She Woke, and even the cover hints at its pedigree. This is The Scarlet Letter-meets-The Handmaid's Tale, a dystopian allegory that explicitly explores the…

Review: 'There But For The' by Ali Smith

Some writers can spin great stories, keep you entangled in every twist of the plot, bring tears to your eyes with each well-timed tug on the heartstrings. Then there are those who remind you of the very power of words, and the uncanny…

Are the Neighbors Really Watching?

I first became a fan of author Debra Ginsberg when I read Waiting: The True Confessions of a Waitress. So I jumped at the chance to read her other book, The Neighbors Are Watching. The last line of the prologue is what hooked me; it…

Review: I Came Out For This? by Lisa Gitlin

Lisa Gitlin's first book, which is dubiously called a novel, is written like a diary and follows the escapades of a love-sick lesbian who "was too stupid to come out until was forty-five years old." The book begins with the narrator…

Review: Ayelet Waldman’s ‘Red Hook Road’

Ayelet Waldman's follow-up novel to Love and Other Impossible Pursuits explores the ways in which two families cope in the aftermath of tragedy. We have all been told at one point or another that time heals all – Red Hook Road is evidence…

Book Review: ‘Wicked Bugs’ by Amy Stewart

Bugs are creepy as hell, but you knew that already. Few things in this world meet with such sudden, violent reactions as a some creepy crawly little bastard with too many legs taking a stroll across your living room floor, searching for…

Book Review: Geek Dad’s Guide to Weekend Fun

Fans of Dungeons & Dragons, Star Wars, Star Trek work tirelessly to bring their geek obsessions into the real world. Geeks go huzzah for Ren Faires. And gaga for cosplay at conventions. But cosplay is child's play compared to the great…